According to the Center for Disease Control, children are four times more likely to be struck by a vehicle on Halloween than any other day in the calendar year. Distracted motorists and excited trick-or-treaters can lead to dangerous situations. For those of you driving during the holiday, be extra cautious, drive slowly, be certain to watch for children who may dart across the street and be extra careful when leaving driveways and turning corners.
If you are run off the road or injured by a “phantom vehicle” (a vehicle whose driver fails to make contact with you and leaves the scene), you are required by Wisconsin state law to do the following in order to be covered by insurance: Find a witness who can corroborate what happened and who does not have a claim as a result of the accident File an accident report with law enforcement within 72 hours of the incident File … Continued
According to Wisconsin state law, all motorists must carry insurance on their vehicles. If you do not have auto insurance, you could face a fine up to $5,000. Further, if you are in an accident and are uninsured, your driver’s license can be suspended, you may have to pay for damages and injuries you caused and you will have to purchase auto insurance before your license is reinstated. In Wisconsin, drivers are required to carry the following minimum amounts of … Continued
If you’ve been in a traffic accident, those first few moments after the incident can lead to a lot of confusion. Your pulse is racing, you may be confused — or even injured. In the aftermath, it can be difficult to make decisions. Here are the steps the Wisconsin Association for Justice recommends you follow if you’ve been involved in a vehicular accident. At the Scene Don’t leave the scene of the accident. Wisconsin law requires drivers involved in an accident … Continued
As cold as Wisconsin can get during the winter months, the state can become exceedingly warm during the summer months. According to the Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS), from 2011-2015, Wisconsin had 48 heat-related fatalities. The majority (52%) of those deaths were people between the ages of 65-84 and more than half of the total deaths were females. Each summer, we also hear reports of children who die because they are left in the car when it’s hot outside.